Six Month Sodium/Health Checkin

Had some nice news this morning when I realized that despite being on vacation, I’m only two and a half pounds away from the result I was hoping for by June 18th. This means, of course, that the goal must be revised…so the new goal is 7.5 pounds by the 18th (which is a friend’s wedding date, and I shall be appearing in the wedding). If I can do it, I’ll be that much closer to my ultimate goal. If not…at least I won’t feel like I can slack off on my efforts!

Of course, the key to the changes I’m trying to make in my life – eating healthier, exercising, taking care of myself – are not the kinds of efforts that I can slack off on once my goal is achieved. Healthy living, I have to keep reminding myself, is a lifestyle – not an all-out sprint to a goal that can then be abandoned.

So how have I been doing? Well, I managed to get to the gym an average of 3 times a week since January, I’ve cut my sodium levels down to a mere fraction (and a small one, at that) of what I used to eat, and I’ve incorporated things like organic fruit, eggs and vegetables into my diet whenever possible. The most High-Fructose Corn Syrup I’ve had in ages was the lemonade I drank at a sports bar last week, and the presence of processed foods in my diet has gone down to almost zero.  What have been the results? A shrinking number on the scale, better endurance and energy, and, yes, a blood pressure that’s significantly lower than it was when I started worrying about all this stuff back in January.

I still have a ways to go, but progress is definitely being made…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

