Eight Months Down The Low Sodium Line #lowsodium

One of my friends is expecting an addition to her family soon. Since she found out about her pregnancy, our conversations have turned to topics around the changes her body is going through as it creates a new life. On a different scale, my body’s been working on its own transformation since January, as my low sodium diet has become more ingrained. (She says, on an afternoon when she split some excellent hamburgers and fries at work.) A few weeks ago, my doctor agreed that I’d made enough progress that the medication I’d been taking on a daily basis could be retired from my daily schedule.

What does that mean? It means I’m now making another transition; I had gotten lax in my habits because my health had improved, and now I have to get strict again. I’ve got to reboot and re-motivate, and make sure that I stay on track going forward.

How far have I come? Not as far as I’d have liked. I’ve lost about 26 pounds since January, but I’ve also gained five or six of them back. I got very disciplined for a while about what kinds of food I kept in the house, and what I ate for every meal – but as the points on my blood pressure monitor went down, I’ve loosened up a bit, and now they’re creeping back up. All the habits that I thought I had under control have proven harder to maintain than I originally thought they would be.

Sometimes following the same routine – the careful regimen that I established in support of all those healthy habits – becomes difficult or impossible, because the demands of life take over. What I’m trying to do now is search for new, innovative ways to make sticking with my healthier habits fit my lifestyle. If you have any suggestions, please leave them in the comments – do you know any tips or tricks for packing a super-low-sodium lunch? Or is there a restaurant in Manhattan that you’ve found is especially friendly to those of us who want our meals prepared without salt? Let me know if you do, ’cause every little bit helps!

It’s not going to be easy, but I’ve definitely learned how to do healthier cooking healthier nachos and adapted my grandparents’ awesome pizza into a Low Sodium Pizza Recipe, so if I can keep exploring those options (and find a way to go back to eating more fish, since I seem to have let that slip recently) things should be okay.

Fingers crossed!

This entry was posted in cooking, low sodium and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Eight Months Down The Low Sodium Line #lowsodium

  1. Ang Haughey says:

    “Sometimes following the same routine – the careful regimen that I established in support of all those healthy habits – becomes difficult or impossible, because the demands of life take over.”

    Yes. This. I am in the same place right now. I’ve come just so far – and now the motivation isn’t where it used to be. I use this excellent website to track my weight (www.kilogramapp.com) and where once the line used to steadily track down, now it is up, down, up, up, down…etc. It’s so hard to break the habits of 32 years and create an entirely new set of habits, eating cues, portion sizes, what foods are ok and what are not. So easy to slip back into what is easy, familiar, comfortable – not so healthy. So yes, I know where you are coming from honey, but I also know you’re tough enough to do that reboot if you have to. I think I am in the same zone of rebooting, reinforcing, trying and trying until eventually things will sink in, and and and…I hope I won’t have to concentrate so hard and it will start to become second nature. Maybe that will happen in a year, maybe it will be 5. But I will get there. And so will you. xx

Leave a Reply

