Year 2 Start – Low Sodium Living in NYC

Three years and over sixty pounds ago, I rocked up to New York City on the chilly, bright morning of January 14th. Over the course of the next three years I got a trainer, learned how to work out, and started my first successful campaign against an unhealthy body – my own Battle of the Bulge. But it’s been so much more than that, not the least of reasons for which is because of a series of health-related factors that have started to come into play.

 

Over a series of posts in this blog, I’ve detailed my progress over the last year; after hitting a low weight back in October on the heels of a two-week trip to New Zealand (it’s amazing, how not knowing what you can and can’t eat can lead to dropping weight like it’s going out of style) the number on the scale has crept slowly upwards throughout the holidays. It got so bad at one point in October that I stopped using the weight-tracking software I’d sworn by for three months; day after day of seeing the revised calculation for the day you’ll hit your “goal weight” become further and further in the future is not, even for a few months’ time, my idea of good motivational practice.

And so I arrived at the end of December having gained about 10 pounds since my adult-low back in October…and then I put on another 10 pounds over the final week of the year. I don’t know how I do it (well, I have some inkling, but that’s for another post) but I manage to weight on like nobody’s business the second I stop paying attention. I wasn’t too worried about it at the time. “I’ll do what I did last January,” I told my roommate, “and just be really serious for the first two weeks of the month about going to the gym and eating healthy and all that.”

Having reached the two-week mark today, on the same day as my three-year anniversary in the City, I’ve decided that I’m going to have to spend the rest of January and most of February being “really serious…about going to the gym and eating healthy and all that.” The weight’s going down, but in order to get back to that post-New-Zealand weight – and then go even lower – it’s going to take more work.

Thus begins year two. Book two, stage two, chapter two, whatever you want to call it. The goal is to emulate what I did right last year while at the same time learning from the mistakes and the weight-bubbles of the last 12 months. So I’m back to shopping carefully, checking the nutritional information on everything, putting thought and effort and planning into when and what I eat, exploring even more low sodium recipes and healthy cooking techniques, and dedicating myself to spending more time and effort on productive exercise.

Any tips?

 

This entry was posted in cooking, healthy recipes, journaling, lifestyle, low sodium, Opinion, weight loss and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Year 2 Start – Low Sodium Living in NYC

  1. Christopher Duncan says:

    I am just so impressed!

Leave a Reply

